top of page

More than Movement

I have always been in love with movement. Those who know me have experienced this love through dance. Dance is the medium I use to better communicate with and understand the world around me. As freeing and expressive as dance is for me, there is more to life than movement and dance is only one form of it. My journey with Yoga has helped me see that.

Asana, the poses or postures created with the body, are only one of the physical forms of how one can practice Yoga. They are movements of the body that we choose to make and manipulate. This serves as a way to discipline the body and gain awareness of ourselves. This is only the third of eight limbs that Yoga has! It is only the first half of the journey in Yoga, which focuses mainly on connection to the body. This was the limb of Yoga that I was most familiar with upon beginning my teacher training. The ideas of better knowing my body, becoming stronger, more flexible, and able to physically do things I once thought were impossible were what attracted me to Yoga. It is all the other limbs that inspire me to continue my practice and teach Yoga for all.

In my next few blogs I hope to dive a little bit deeper into all the limbs of yoga from my own perspective. I want to bring more awareness to Yoga as mind, body, and self discovery that comes from much more than movement.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page